Australia markets open in 4 hours 38 minutes
  • ALL ORDS

    6,816.80
    -32.00 (-0.47%)
     
  • AUD/USD

    0.7390
    +0.0033 (+0.45%)
     
  • ASX 200

    6,601.10
    -35.30 (-0.53%)
     
  • OIL

    45.53
    -0.18 (-0.39%)
     
  • GOLD

    1,788.10
    -23.10 (-1.28%)
     
  • BTC-AUD

    24,465.74
    +407.53 (+1.69%)
     
  • CMC Crypto 200

    333.27
    -4.23 (-1.25%)
     

Watch SpaceX launch a Boeing-built satellite and attempt to recover its spacecraft fairing live

Darrell Etherington

SpaceX is launching yet another rocket this evening -- its 13th this year. This Falcon 9 launch is set for liftoff sometime during a window that'll last for just over an hour, and that opens at 7:10 PM EST (4:10 PM PST) and extends to 8:38 PM EST (5:38 PM PST). The launch will use a first-stage rocket booster that previously flew in May and July of this year, and it'll include an attempted landing of that booster, as well as a try at recovering both halves of the fairing used to protect the spacecraft's cargo as it ascends to space.

The cargo itself is a satellite built by Boeing that hosts two payloads for different clients, including Japanese pay TV broadcast service provider SKY Perfect JSAT, and a high-speed broadband connectivity satellite developed by Kratos called Kacific1. The Falcon 9 spacecraft will be looking to deliver these to orbit around half-an-hour after liftoff.

It's definitely going to be worth watching the secondary mission elements of this one, as SpaceX has so far succeeded only in recovering one half of a fairing used during a mission with a single barge stationed in the ocean. This will see it try to catch both pieces, using two ships named "Ms. Tree" and "Ms. Chief" that have been retrofitted with a large net assembly specifically for the purpose.

Tune in here for the live stream above, which should get started around 15 minutes prior to the opening of the launch window, so at around 6:55 PM EST (3:55 PM PST).