Australia markets closed
  • ALL ORDS

    7,299.10
    +43.30 (+0.60%)
     
  • AUD/USD

    0.7804
    +0.0032 (+0.41%)
     
  • ASX 200

    7,066.00
    +42.40 (+0.60%)
     
  • OIL

    66.50
    +0.23 (+0.35%)
     
  • GOLD

    1,867.90
    +0.30 (+0.02%)
     
  • BTC-AUD

    58,473.87
    -310.02 (-0.53%)
     
  • CMC Crypto 200

    1,267.93
    +70.01 (+5.84%)
     

Woman left mortified after popular photo app accidentally shares private video: 'My worst fear'

Katie Mather
·2-min read

A woman accidentally sent her mom a video she wasn’t supposed to see and now, she’s sharing the embarrassing moment on TikTok.

In her now-viral video, TikTok user Kara Tonin (@karatonin) started by saying: “This is a PSA for anybody who uses Google Photos or any photo app that has facial recognition.” 

Google Photos features software that can recognize faces — meaning when you type in a familiar person’s name, you can see a whole selection of your photos and videos of them. From there, you can easily make an album of those results and send it to others.

Tonin used the feature to send her mom a series of photos and videos featuring her son. However, Google Photos might just be too good at facial recognition. 

“If you are my son watching this, keep scrolling now,” Tonin added. “Do not watch this video.”

This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.

Tonin used Google Photos to make so anytime she added a photo or video of her son, her mom would get a notifcation. Unfortunately, Tonin didn’t think to double-check her other uploads.

“A little while back, I decided I wanted to spice things up a little bit in my relationship,” she explained. “I made an R-rated video … and Google Photos picked up a very small picture of my son in the background on my fridge and said, ‘Hey, that’s a picture of Josh. Let’s send this video to Kara’s mom.'”

The blunder has since racked up almost 3 million views on TikTok.

“I’m so sorry, mom,” Tonin concluded.

“OHHHH MY GOD NO,” one user commented. “I’M SO SORRY.”

“I will not share any albums now,” another added.

“My worst fear…” another said.

Turns out, this isn’t the first time Google Photos has caused chaos.

“When my ex and I broke up, like almost two months later [Google Photos] sent me a notification that [it] had prepared an album for me,” one commenter wrote. “It had put every photo I took with my ex and sent it to me two months after the breakup and I was like, thanks Google for breaking my heart all over again.”

Plant Week: How to repot your plants

In The Know is now available on Apple News — follow us here!

If you liked this story, check out this article about the cops who detained a beachgoer over her bikini.

More from In The Know:

Creator HeyParis accuses popular YouTuber of stealing her content

Barack Obama’s first presidential memoir is out now — and it’s cheaper to read with Kindle

These inexpensive silky-soft pillowcases on Amazon are good for your hair and your skin

The 3 most affordable meal delivery kits for cooking at home

The post Woman horrified after realizing she shared embarrassing video appeared first on In The Know.