Australia markets closed
  • ALL ORDS

    6,373.70
    -10.00 (-0.16%)
     
  • ASX 200

    6,167.00
    -6.80 (-0.11%)
     
  • AUD/USD

    0.7142
    +0.0024 (+0.34%)
     
  • OIL

    39.78
    -0.86 (-2.12%)
     
  • GOLD

    1,903.40
    -1.20 (-0.06%)
     
  • BTC-AUD

    18,586.33
    -60.72 (-0.33%)
     
  • CMC Crypto 200

    260.05
    -1.40 (-0.54%)
     
  • AUD/EUR

    0.6017
    -0.0001 (-0.02%)
     
  • AUD/NZD

    1.0666
    -0.0001 (-0.01%)
     
  • NZX 50

    12,470.34
    +63.05 (+0.51%)
     
  • NASDAQ

    11,692.57
    +29.66 (+0.25%)
     
  • FTSE

    5,860.28
    +74.63 (+1.29%)
     
  • Dow Jones

    28,335.57
    -28.09 (-0.10%)
     
  • DAX

    12,645.75
    +102.69 (+0.82%)
     
  • Hang Seng

    24,918.78
    +132.65 (+0.54%)
     
  • NIKKEI 225

    23,516.59
    +42.32 (+0.18%)
     

Watch SpaceX launch 60 more Starlink satellites for its broadband internet service live

Darrell Etherington
·1-min read

UPDATE: The launch has been scrubbed for today. SpaceX is evaluating whether to attempt tomorrow during its backup window, given weather conditions.

SpaceX is set to launch the latest batch of its Starlink satellites on Thursday, with a target lift-off time of 2:19 PM EDT (11:19 AM PDT). The mission will take off from Kennedy Space Center in Florida, and there's a backup opportunity tomorrow at 1:57 PM EDT (10:57 AM PDT) in case weather or any other issues prevent a launch attempt today.

The launch today will add to SpaceX's growing constellation of operational Starlink satellites on orbit. There are now over 500 of these circling the globe, as SpaceX conducts private beta testing of its high-speed, low-latency consumer internet service and prepares for an open beta launch later this year. The goal is to create a scalable, eventually globe-spanning service that can provide service where previously unavailable, or to customers who had to rely on shaky or slow connections in the past.

The launch today includes use of a Falcon 9 first-stage booster that has flown twice previously, including first during SpaceX's landmark Demo-2 Crew Dragon mission, the first ever for the company to carry human astronauts. SpaceX will also be attempting to recover the booster yet again for another future launch. One of the two fairing halves that protect the cargo atop the Falcon 9 was also used previously, on two separate occasions, for other Starlink satellite launches.

The live stream above will begin roughly 15 minutes before the target liftoff time, so at around 2:04 PM EDT (11:04 AM PDT).