Australia markets closed
  • ALL ORDS

    6,133.20
    -34.80 (-0.56%)
     
  • ASX 200

    5,927.60
    -32.70 (-0.55%)
     
  • AUD/USD

    0.7029
    -0.0001 (-0.01%)
     
  • OIL

    35.72
    -0.45 (-1.24%)
     
  • GOLD

    1,878.80
    +10.80 (+0.58%)
     
  • BTC-AUD

    19,702.51
    +185.07 (+0.95%)
     
  • CMC Crypto 200

    265.42
    +1.78 (+0.68%)
     
  • AUD/EUR

    0.6031
    +0.0013 (+0.22%)
     
  • AUD/NZD

    1.0613
    +0.0015 (+0.14%)
     
  • NZX 50

    12,084.47
    -117.33 (-0.96%)
     
  • NASDAQ

    11,052.95
    -297.80 (-2.62%)
     
  • FTSE

    5,577.27
    -4.48 (-0.08%)
     
  • Dow Jones

    26,501.60
    -157.51 (-0.59%)
     
  • DAX

    11,556.48
    -41.59 (-0.36%)
     
  • Hang Seng

    24,107.42
    -479.18 (-1.95%)
     
  • NIKKEI 225

    22,977.13
    -354.81 (-1.52%)
     

Watch Blue Origin launch its reusable New Shepard rocket live, with a key NASA system test on board

Darrell Etherington
·1-min read
Blue Origin NS-10 New Shepard landing. Credit: Blue Origin
Blue Origin NS-10 New Shepard landing. Credit: Blue Origin

Blue Origin is set to return to active flight today, after a hiatus of nearly a year since its last launch in December 2019. Today's launch is a mission for the company's New Shepard reusable sub-orbital rocket -- a record-setting sixth flight for this particular rocket, which first flew and landed back in December 2017. Today's launch includes a system design to test elements of NASA's Deorbit, Descent and Landing Sensor technology, which will provide key automation for use in future landers for the moon and Mars that will be able to intelligently identify and avoid potential hazards on target landing zones.

This test will include recovery of both the rocket and the capsule for the New Shepard launch vehicle. The rocket will land back at the West Texas launch and landing site with a controlled, engine-powered descent, and the capsule will descend via parachute. The capsule will contain a variety of experiments and other payloads, including postcards from Blue Origin's nonprofit organization Club for the Future provided by children from across the country.

The launch is set to take place at 8:35 AM CDT (9:35 AM EDT/6:35 AM PDT), with the live stream above beginning at around 9:05 AM EDT (6:05 AM PDT). The stream will include a message from NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine. Blue Origin is increasingly working closely with NASA, including on a human landing system that could be the means for getting the next human astronauts to the surface of the moon.