Last chance to claim $1,000 payment

Aussies who were impacted by the Victorian floods still have time to apply.

·2-min read
Flood payment
Victorians have until June 16 to claim the $1,000 flood-relief payment. (Source: Getty)

Victorians who were impacted by flooding in October last year have one last chance to claim the $1,000 flood-relief payment.

Services Australia has given Aussies until June 16 to make a claim and said the payment was available for people seriously affected by the floods.

“The Australian Government Disaster Recovery Payment is not for minor damage or inconvenience. Its purpose is to help with major damage to your property or other assets,” Services Australia said.

Eligible Aussies can get $1,000 per adult and $400 per child younger than 16 years old as a lump sum payment.

Aussies who lost income as a result of the floods can also claim a separate Disaster Recovery Allowance and have until May 28 to do so.

Aussies who were impacted by the South Australian floods in November last year are also eligible for the Disaster Recovery Allowance until May 29, however they are not eligible for the $1,000 payment.

How to make a claim

You can claim the Disaster Recovery Payment through a myGov account linked to Centrelink. If you don’t have an account, you’ll need to set one up online.

If you need help claiming, you can call Services Australia’s emergency information line on 180 22 66 Monday to Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm.

You can check the full eligibility criteria on the Services Australia website.

Who can claim the payment?

The following local government areas (LGAs) in Victoria are eligible to apply for the flood payment:

  • Benalla

  • Boroondara

  • Buloke

  • Campaspe

  • Central Goldfields

  • Corangamite

  • Gannawarra

  • Golden Plains

  • Greater Bendigo

  • Greater Shepparton

  • Hepburn

  • Loddon

  • Macedon Ranges

  • Maribyrnong

  • Maroondah

  • Melbourne

  • Mildura

  • Mitchell

  • Moira

  • Moonee Valley

  • Mornington Peninsula

  • Mount Alexander

  • Murrindindi

  • Northern Grampians

  • Pyrenees

  • Southern Grampians

  • Strathbogie

  • Swan Hill

  • Wangaratta

  • Yarra

  • Yarra Ranges

Follow Yahoo Finance on Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram and Twitter, and subscribe to our free daily newsletter.