Australia markets open in 5 hours 14 minutes

    -42.80 (-0.53%)

    +0.0068 (+1.03%)
  • ASX 200

    -39.90 (-0.51%)
  • OIL

    +0.61 (+0.78%)
  • GOLD

    +17.60 (+0.76%)
  • Bitcoin AUD

    +3,102.33 (+3.09%)
  • CMC Crypto 200

    +35.26 (+2.53%)

Commonwealth Bank to partially close 90 regional branches

Exterior of a CBA branch in Queenstown, Tasmania.
The regional CBA branches will support local commuities until 1pm and then close to support Australian call centres (Source: Getty)

Commonwealth Bank of Australia (CBA) branches in 90 regional locations will change to shorter operating hours.

CBA (CBA.AX) said those who work in the branches will serve their local communities in the morning and early afternoon before switching to supporting customers across Australia in the afternoon.

“Following close consultation with our people, these regional branches will continue serving local customers in branch from 9:30am to 1:00pm and then close to assist CBA’s Australian-based contact centres, which are receiving more than a million increasingly complex customer enquiries every month,” CBA said in a statement.


Mark Jones, executive general manager customer service network said the branches in regional Australia will continue to play an important role in delivering customer service in their regional communities.

“This is an example of how we are adapting to meet changing customers’ evolving needs while ensuring jobs stay in regional communities,” Jones said.

“We’re expanding our Australian-based contact centre network from five dedicated locations to over 90 communities across the country, while keeping a physical banking presence in regional communities.”

Outside of these new trading hours, Bank@Post will continue to be available at 3,500 Australia Post outlets for customers who prefer face-to-face banking services.

CBA recently renewed its 110-year partnership with Australia Post until 2032, so both personal and business customers can make withdrawals, deposits and bill payments, including passbooks, during normal business hours.

All of these 90 local communities already have 24/7 access to CBA ATMs, which will remain available.

“We understand these changes may be an adjustment for some of our customers, and the team at their local branch will continue to be available to help them find the solutions that best suit their needs,” Jones said.

“We’re concentrating on offering a range of different but complementary options for millions of Australians to complete their everyday banking, including our branches, Bank@Post, our Australian-based contact centres, ATMs, and our digital services.”

CBA said the COVID-19 pandemic has not changed how the bank determines its branch footprint and services, but this period has accelerated a shift in customer preferences towards digital and contact centre services.

The new trading hours will be effective from 13 September 2021 in NSW, SA and WA, while those in VIC, TAS and QLD will make the switch on 4 October 2021.

Here is the full list of the 90 affected branches.

New South Wales & Australian Capital Territory

  • Batlow

  • Bourke

  • Cobar

  • Condobolin

  • Coonabarabran

  • Coonamble

  • Cootamundra

  • Deniliquin

  • Eden

  • Forbes

  • Gloucester

  • Gulgong

  • Hay

  • Huskisson

  • Jindabyne

  • Kyogle

  • Moree

  • Moss Vale

  • Narooma

  • Narrabri

  • Nyngan

  • Oberon

  • Quirindi

  • Scone

  • Temora

  • Tumut

  • Warren

  • Wauchope

  • Wellington

  • West Wyalong

  • Woolgoolga

South Australia

  • Bordertown

  • Kadina

  • Murray Bridge

  • Naracoorte

  • Nuriootpa

  • Port Pirie

  • Victor Harbor

Western Australia

  • Esperance

  • Katanning

  • Manjimup

  • Merredin

  • Narrogin

  • Northam


  • Beechworth

  • Camperdown

  • Charlton

  • Donald

  • Euroa

  • Foster

  • Kerang

  • Kyabram

  • Lorne

  • Maffra

  • Mansfield

  • Mount Beauty

  • Myrtleford

  • Nhill

  • Numurkah

  • Orbost

  • Robinvale

  • St Arnaud

  • Warracknabeal

  • Yarrawonga

  • Yarra Glen


  • Deloraine

  • Exeter

  • George Town

  • Huonville

  • Latrobe

  • Longford

  • Scottsdale

  • St Helens

  • Wynyard


  • Atherton

  • Ayr

  • Biloela

  • Charleville

  • Charters Towers

  • Childers

  • Chinchilla

  • Goondiwindi

  • Ingham

  • Longreach

  • Murgon

  • Port Douglas

  • Proserpine

  • Roma

  • St George

  • Tully

Follow Yahoo Finance on Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram and Twitter, and subscribe to the free Fully Briefed daily newsletter.