Australia markets closed

    -83.90 (-1.04%)
  • ASX 200

    -84.20 (-1.08%)

    +0.0000 (+0.01%)
  • OIL

    -0.23 (-0.30%)
  • GOLD

    +2.40 (+0.10%)
  • Bitcoin AUD

    -3,996.22 (-3.79%)
  • CMC Crypto 200

    -26.14 (-1.78%)

    +0.0001 (+0.01%)

    -0.0002 (-0.02%)
  • NZX 50

    -26.09 (-0.22%)

    -81.82 (-0.44%)
  • FTSE

    -37.22 (-0.45%)
  • Dow Jones

    -605.78 (-1.53%)
  • DAX

    -80.63 (-0.43%)
  • Hang Seng

    -259.77 (-1.38%)
  • NIKKEI 225

    -457.11 (-1.17%)

All the countries on Australia’s coronavirus travel ban list

Here's where Australians are advised not to travel to. Source: Getty
Here's where Australians are advised not to travel to. Source: Getty
  • All Australians returning from international travel required to self-isolate for 14 days;

  • Australians urged to reconsider their needs for overseas travel at this time;

  • Australia’s travel ban list includes Italy, China, Iran and South Korea;

  • Japan, Hong Kong, Cambodia, Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia, Mongolia deemed ‘moderate-’ or ‘high-risk’.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison has told Australians returning from overseas to self-isolate for 14 days as of Monday 16 March.

International cruise ships have also been banned from docking in Australia for the next 30 days, but “bespoke” arrangements will be made for Australians to get home.


This follows the government’s extension of the travel ban to Italy, effective Wednesday 6pm, bringing the total list of countries with stringent travel restrictions to four.

The government has already banned travel from China, Iran and South Korea in order to stem the entry of travellers coming from countries with high rates of the coronavirus Covid-19.

The travel ban means Australians returning from these countries will have to isolate themselves four 14 days after departing these countries, and foreign nationals will be banned from entry.

“The situation in Italy is now commensurate with the other countries where we've previously had travel bans put in place and so we'll be expanding that travel ban to Italy now,” Morrison said on Wednesday morning.

“This, of course, will mean that any Australians, residents or others, who are obviously exempt from those travel bans, would be subject to the same isolation period that applies to the other countries for which there are travel bans.”

Anyone who fails health checks will be denied entry onto aircraft.

The revised bans will be put in place until March 14, with the Australian government set to review the situation within a week to see if the restrictions need to be extended further.

The level of advice for several Asian countries as well as Iran has been raised.

Here’s the full list of countries on Australia’s travel ban:


The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade has warned Australians not to travel to mainland China, with coronavirus cases in the country totalling 80,409.

All travellers arriving from any part of mainland China will be subject to enhanced border control measures.

Foreign nationals won’t be allowed to enter the country for 14 days from the time they left the country, while Australian citizens and permanent residents will be asked to self-isolate for 14 days.

According to Chinese authorities, the death toll in China has risen to more than 2,600 globally.


Morrison announced a travel ban on Italy during a press conference on the morning of Wednesday 11 March 2020.

At the time, the government’s Smart Traveller website had yet to be updated with the new development, with the status remaining at ‘Reconsider your need to travel’.

Prior to the travel ban announcement, the Australian Government advised Australians to exercise a high degree of caution before visiting Italy.

Aussies were told to reconsider travel to several Italian towns and cities in the northern region, including Milan and Venice.

If you’re returning from Italy, you’ll be greeted at the border with enhanced health screening measures, like temperature checks.

Those who work in healthcare or aged care are advised to not attend their regular work for 14 days.

Italy has imposed a lockdown on the country, which effectively places 16 million people into quarantine.


DFAT raised the level of travel advisory for Iran from level three to level four (do not travel) on 1 March, with Australian citizens returning from Iran now required to self-isolate at home for 14 days from the day they left Iran.

Foreign nationals won’t be allowed to enter the country for 14 days from the time they left the country.

"It's clear that in Iran there is an uncontrolled spread," Health Minister Greg Hunt said. "The situation in Iran is clearly far worse than has been documented and significantly higher than the recorded case numbers."

Embassy families have been ordered home.

Iran reported 12 deaths from the virus and 61 confirmed cases, with the country closing schools and cultural and religious centres on Sunday.

South Korea

The Australian government extended the travel ban to South Korea on Thursday.

Foreign nationals won’t be allowed to enter the country for 14 days from the time they left the country, while Australian citizens and permanent residents will be asked to self-isolate for 14 days.

In South Korea, there are a total of 833 cases, with 300 said to have spread via a religious group in the city of Daegu.

Here’s the list of countries where Australians are advised to exercise caution:


Japan has been updated to a ‘high risk’ country due to the heightened risk of sustained local transmission of coronavirus.

Smart Traveller has urged Australians to “reconsider” their need to travel to restricted areas near the Fukushima Dai-ichi power plant.


Mongolia has also been updated to ‘high risk’, with the government warning “the standard of medical care is poor”.

As well, Australians who have travelled to or transited through China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, South Korea, Italy, Japan or Iran in the 14 days prior to arrival will be denied entry to the Mongolia.

Hong Kong

Those travelling from China, Iran or certain areas of Italy will be put into mandatory quarantine, while non-Hong Kong residents who have been in South Korea in the last 14 days will be denied entry.

Airline passengers will have to do health screenings, and anyone suspected of having coronavirus might be taken to hospital or quarantined.


Australians should exercise a high degree of caution when travelling to Indonesia.

The government’s Smartraveller website also warned that healthcare facilities in Indonesia, including Bali, “is likely to be significantly below the standards available in Australia”.

There are temporary restrictions for those travelling from China parts of Italy, Iran, and South Korea.


Aussies are advised to exercise a high degree of caution. People suspected of having coronavirus will be taken to hospital for treatment or mandatory quarantine by Thai officials.

Australians have been instructed not to travel to Yala province, Pattani province, Narathiwat province, and Songkhla province.


If you’ve travelled to China, Iran, South Korea, or northern Italy in the last 14 days, you won’t be allowed to enter or even transit in Singapore, and you can expect additional health screening at borders.

If you don’t comply with a request to be tested, you may be denied entry to the country. Australians should exercise normal safety precautions.


Australians will have to exercise normal safety precautions in Cambodia, with body temperature screenings in place at international airports.

“If you have symptoms of respiratory illness including cough, you could be quarantined,” according to Smartraveller.

With AAP and additional reporting by Jessica Yun.

Make your money work with Yahoo Finance’s daily newsletter. Sign up here and stay on top of the latest money, news and tech news.

Follow Yahoo Finance Australia on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn.